Research Guides: COMM 331 (Jeppeson): Research Databases

Research Databases

Creating a Concept Map

Concept Map example
This is a good example from Appalachian State University on how to produce a concept map. Their example is on vegetarianism

Database Video

finding articles

You can start a search on any topic in OneSearch. It has articles on everything.

Find more subject-specific articles from journals, magazines and newspapers by searching the library databases.

On the database page, find the category for your topic. For example, if you are searching for argumentative sources, click Controversial Topics. Then choose one of the databases in that category - CQ Researcher or Opposing Viewpoints.

If you are off campus, log in to the database with your W number and e-services password.

Research databases

Databases that may be helpful with your project

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Los Rios Libraries' online catalog and access to the content of most databases held at Los Rios.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles on current social issues and controversial topics.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current social and political issues.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Background information, reports and current news about culture, politics, economics and the environment from countries around the world.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Background information, magazines and reports on consumer health in medical sciences, food sciences/nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.