Research Guides: ENGWR 300 (Spangler): Research Databases

Research Databases

Creating a Concept Map

Concept Map example
This is a good example from Appalachian State University on how to produce a concept map. Their example is on vegetarianism

finding articles

You can start a search on any topic in OneSearch. It has articles on everything. See previous page for more information on using OneSearch.

Find more subject-specific articles from journals, magazines and newspapers by searching the library databases.

On the database page, find the category for your topic. For example, if you are searching for argumentative sources, click Controversial Topics. Then choose one of the databases in that category: CQ Researcher or Opposing Viewpoints.

If you are off campus, log in to the database with your W number and e-services password.

A sampling of helpful databases for your assignment

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Los Rios Libraries' online catalog and access to the content of most databases held at Los Rios.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Select "Case law" to find scholarship about legal cases.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current social and political issues.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles on current social issues and controversial topics.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Documentaries in the humanities, history, health, technical education, archival films, and much more. View expiring titles