Skip to Main Content
Award-winning books in the SCC Library

Award-winning books in the SCC Library

Women's Prize for Fiction

What is the Women's Prize for Fiction?

The inspiration for the Women's Prize for Fiction was the Booker Prize of 1991 when none of the six shortlisted books was by a woman, despite some 60% of novels published that year being by female authors. 

The aim of the award is always to celebrate women’s creative achievements and international writing, whilst also stimulating debate about gender and writing, gender and reading, and how the publishing and reviewing business works.

Winners are announced each June.

Women's Prize for Fiction winners