Allied Health Websites

"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions."

BioMed Central is an STM (science, technology and medicine) publisher of 257 peer-reviewed open access journals.

Information selected by Health Sciences librarians and the National Library of Medicine. A great site; it may be the only one you need.

The Merck Manual has been in publication since 1899. "As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers."

PubChem now includes the NLM Drug Information Portal. It includes information about medications.

A "worldwide non-profit network of people passionate about openness, using advocacy, technology and training to unlock information and enable people to work with it to create and share knowledge."

"Nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication."

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

"Tracking retractions as a window into the scientific process"

A library of medical content for physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and allied health professionals

Online version of the classic anatomy book

From Google.

This commercial site contains a listing of thousands of industry-sponsored clinical trials as well as databases listing drug therapies in use in clinical trials and new drug therapies recently approved by the FDA.

This National Library of Medicine site provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research studies. You can search for open clinical trials, and clinical trial results, from studies in the United States and in over 200 countries. .

This is a comprehensive resource from the NCI that provides a searchable database for current cancer clinical trials and links to educational materials describing what clinical trials are and why they are important.

"Integrating Cultural Information into Clinical Practice"

Consumer Reports' recommended best buys and unbiased analysis of prescription drugs.

DailyMed provides reliable information about marketed drugs.

Good site for drug interactions

This is a single point access to public and private patient assistance programs.

Drug Information

Scientific website that includes information about medications

Want to know the chemical structure of aspirin or any other drug? This is the website to visit.

Drug information, instructions for administering medicines, form for keeping track of your medications, from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

The Faces Pain Scale – Revised (FPS-R) is a self-report measure of pain intensity developed for children. It was adapted from the Faces Pain Scale to make it possible to score the sensation of pain on the widely accepted 0-to-10 metric.

WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data.

from the CDC

"The Silver Book, launched in 2006, is an almanac of compelling statistics that bring together all of the most current data on chronic disease, all into one place, while spotlighting the promise of innovation in mitigating the burden of disease. The database currently houses thousands of free facts from hundreds of sources, and is continuously updated in order to bring the latest data to the fingertips of those shaping policy."

from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy and body systems, surgical procedures and health news.

Educational videos from Stanford University

Videos on various topics from the medical library at the University of Wisconsin at Madison; includes a large nursing section.