Research Guides: HIST 310 (Kehew): Historical Databases

Historical Databases

Good Databases for Historical Research

Historical research is one of the topic areas where it can be better to also use specific databases, rather than only using the OneSearch.

The following SCC Library databases are particularly useful for research on historical topics.

America: History & Life With Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, professional journals, and ebooks on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, education and other fields.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Ebooks and background information in career development, history, health, science, and literature.

Benefits of Library Databases - Citation

One of the benefits of using library databases over Google for your research is that most of the databases will help you with citation. Look for a cite option in the different databases you use from the SCC library.

However, there are often errors in citations that are generated by the databases so don't copy and paste them directly into your research paper. Make sure to compare them against one of the style guides for appropriate formatting.

Finding Sources through American History & Life (University of Georgia Example)

Here is an example of how to find articles from American History & Life. Ignore the last part that is specific to the University of Georgia Library. At SCC, look for the view full-text option to open the article once you have found relevant results.