Consumer Health Websites

Alzheimer's Association has tips on maintaining independence, making job decisions, talking with family and friends, and more.

Health topic page from MedlinePlus

Alzheimer's Disease Fact Sheet

American Lung Association's helpful infomation about asthma and its treatment.

Information, advocacy, research and "Ask the Allergist" email feature make this an extremely useful website.

Tips to get you moving and to help you maintain an active lifestyle.

"The NICHD supports and conducts research on what causes autism, how best to detect signs of autism, how best to treat autism and its symptoms, and other topics."

The Arthritis Foundation website offers information on how to live well with arthritis.

An alphabetical index in English and Spanish for fact sheets on specific conditions
and disorders is available.

A good starting point of overall information on types of cancer and treatment, helpful information for patients and families, and management of your cancer experience.

American Lung Association's helpful information about lung cancer and its treatments.

Website includes tips for lowering risk, information on symptoms and diagnosis, news and research, library of terms, interactive discussion lists, treatment options, and downloadable brochures.

This is the consumer information site from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). It includes information on 120 types of cancer, strategies for coping, and healthy living after diagnosis.

A place to find online support groups, webcast/telephone workshops, resources, links to support, educational, treatment, and information services.

Emory University

This site has cancer risks for women, and a search engine to locate gynecologic oncologists; includes links to related sites, publications, and support groups.

Cancer Fact Sheets

Look Good Feel Better is a non-medical, brand-neutral public service program that teaches beauty techniques to people with cancer to help them manage the appearance-related side effects of cancer treatment.

"LUNGevity Foundation is firmly committed to making an immediate impact on increasing quality of life and survivorship of people with lung cancer by accelerating research into early detection and more effective treatments, as well as providing community, support, and education for all those affected by the disease."

Great overall cancer site. Treatment and clinical trials.

Cancer resources for patients and healthcare professionals

American Society for Radiation Oncology

American Lung Association's helpful information about COPD and its treatments.

Tools to help patients easily understand complex lung diseases.

Find information about health check-ups, coping with health issues, planning for the future, and more.

Site has a news section, library of terms, children's' section, parents' section, and 'ask the experts' section.

Free, easy-to-read, illustrated health education aids.

A great place for information, including overviews, latest news, diagnosis/symptoms, treatment, prevention, medical encyclopedia, reltaed topics, alternative therapy, disease management, tutorials and videos. Available in many languages.

Published by the US National Institutes of Health [NIH] and Centers for Disease Control [CDC].
Website has information for minorities, Spanish-language and Asian-American information, tips on how to control and prevent diabetes, resources for children and adolescents.

Lots of diabetes information and publications.

Provides a wide variety of information and videos on maintaining health through exercise for disabled people of all ages.

Government sponsored site with information on all aspects of disability

Easy-to-use site provides health effects and safety information on everyday products in the home, garage, and garden.

Part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Website has information on living with vision loss, information for seniors and kids, eye conditions, blindness statistics, and Spanish translations.

A great place to find overviews, latest news, diagnosis/symptoms, treatment, prevention, and research.

Your guide to understanding genetic conditions. Learn about mutations, inheritance, genetic counseling, genetic testing, genomic research and more.

Patient education materials

The American Heart Association provides information and health check tools for consumers, to help people live healthier lives and to reduce risk of heart disease.

American College of Cardiology

Tools, resources, and event information for
families and patients living with heart failure.

Patient education

Provides help for women recently diagnosed with heart disease. Includes strategies for maintaining normal daily activities and lifelong management tips.

Diseases and conditions index, clinical trials information, health assessment tools, healthy recipes, and educational tutorials.

Patient Guide to Heart, Lung, and Esophageal Surgery

Learn the basic facts about HIV/AIDS to protect yourself and your partner.

Information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention and research

Provides HIV/AIDS treatment information in non-technical language.

Basic information, prevention and testing, 'ask the experts' page, statistics, policy and advocacy, hotlines, personal stories, and local organization listings. Also available in Spanish.

Gateway to HIV/AIDS knowledge from UC San Francisco

A great website for the latest news, overviews, diagnosis/symptoms, treatment, prevention, clinical trials, research and glossaries.

HIV fact sheets

A program of the International Society for Infectious Diseases (ISID). ProMED was launched in 1994 as an Internet service to identify unusual health events related to emerging and re-emerging infectious diseases and toxins affecting humans, animals and plants.

Includes culturally relevant information about how ethnic cultures and special groups relate to mental illness and mental health care.

Provides up-to-date, scientifically based tools and information written for the general public about Bipolar Disorder and related conditions.

"The Geriatric Mental Health Foundation was established by the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry to raise awareness of psychiatric and mental health disorders affecting the elderly, eliminate the stigma of mental illness and treatment, promote healthy aging strategies, and increase access to quality mental health care for the elderly."

One-stop access to U.S. government mental health information.

MHA is the nation's largest and oldest community-based network dedicated to helping all Americans live mentally healthier lives.

NAMI is dedicated to improving the lives of individuals and families affected by mental illness.

Provides information for veterans and their families, for the general public and for health care providers and researchers.

Provides information on specific conditions, treatments, clinical trials, local resources, and for special populations such as kids, teens, and seniors.

The website has a large database of organizations for rare disorders as well as a comprehensive disease database.

Their mission is "to discover treatments and the cure for Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria Syndrome and its aging-related disorders, including heart disease."

Provides information about stroke warning signs and symptoms.

Risk factors, symptoms, prevention, tips for stroke survivors and families, survivor stories, and caregiver resources.

A great place for latest news, overviews, diagnoses/symptoms, treatment, prevention, alternative therapy, clinical trials, research, genetics, and glossaries.

Rehabilitation advice, post-stroke fact sheets, and information on preventing another stroke.

Helps individuals struggling with drug addiction and alcoholism. Includes treatment options, information on clinical trials, holistic approaches, and resources to turn to after treatment is completed.

Sponsored by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). Locate a drug and alcoholism treatment program in your city.

Provides information about commonly abused drugs and their effects, addiction science, treatment approaches, and related topics.