There are a couple of specific databases that are useful for this assignment, particularly if you don't know your topic that well.
OneSearch provides access to almost all of the library's collection from a single search box. Type your keywords and quickly get results from books, ebooks, articles, images, streaming audio, and more.
When you use OneSearch, you will find material from several different resources.
To view full-text results, you may see a link to "PDF full text" or "HTML full text", or you might see a link that will take you to another subscription database or online source.
OneSearch is the successor to the library catalog (sometimes known as LOIS). To limit your results to only items that would be found in the library catalog, click the limiter reading Books & Videos on Library Shelves.
OneSearch is one tool among many. If you want to search the widest possible array of sources at once, it is a good tool to use. There are plenty of cases, however, when you might want to use a more focused database that covers a particular discipline or has a particular kind of material. In addition, a few of the databases are not included in OneSearch.
If you click a record, you can find out which database it is coming by clicking the Cite tool and finding which database is listed as the source. If you wish, you can limit your search results to a particular database by using the Database limiter near the bottom of the left-hand menu. (Certain databases such as Academic Search Complete are excluded from the Databases limiter.)
OneSearch is powered by EBSCO Discovery Service. If you have questions about how to use it, please use our Ask a Librarian service. For more detailed information, contact Jeff Karlsen.
To view the tips, click on the presentation or use the controls at the bottom of the slide window.
In most cases, full-text articles and ebooks open seamlessly inside the EBSCOhost window. In others, you will see links that lead you to different databases.
If you click a full-text link but the article does not open, try searching the database that you were sent to for the article. Or ask a librarian for help locating the item.