Guide Pages
Latina/o and Chicana/o Studies
Use keywords when searching
Use keywords to make a concise search query and avoid full sentences or too many words - this will yield better results :).
For example, Mexican Americans and activism.
Combine the name of the group you are studying with the aspect you want to find out about. For example,
Chican* AND (combine with one of the following):
- education
- activism
- class
- gender
- immigration
- housing
- bias
- art
- music
Note: using the asterisk (shift 8), like in the example above, is called truncation. For example, Chican* will search for Chicana, Chicanas, Chicano, Chicanos, Chicanx, Chicanismo, Chicanidad, etc.
Start Your Research - Library Databases
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch will show you results for print books and ebooks, along with all other types of sources contained in the Los Rios libraries.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals published by and about various racial and ethnic groups in the United States.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
- America: History & Life With Full Text This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, professional journals, and ebooks on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, professional journals, reports and magazines in the social sciences, the humanities, and general sciences.
Newspapers and Documents from the Chicano Movement
- La Raza (1967-1977)The La Raza newspaper and magazine was an underground news publication that ran from 1967-1977. The purpose of the paper was to document what was happening in and affecting the Chicano/Latino community during the Chicano Movement and at the height of racial tensions in not just Los Angeles and in Southern California, but across the United States, Mexico, and Latin America.
- Belvedere Citizen / Eastside Journal (1968-1980)The Belvedere Citizen and Eastside Journal have been published weekly since 1934 and 1935 respectively. The contents of the issues were the same except for the front page. Scanned from microfilm, the full issue of the Belevedere Citizen is followed by a tearsheet of the front page from the Eastside Journal.
- Third World Forum (1970-2013)A student newspaper from UC Davis.
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionThis collection contains 842,906 issues comprising 10,218,781 pages and 46,699,370 articles.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside. - Chicano Articles Collection at the Online Archives of CaliforniaThe Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Some of the materials can be accessed online.
Books about Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies
Brown Trans Figurations by Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 G454 2021ISBN: 9781477322123Publication Date: 2021
The Making of Chicana/o Studies by Call Number: E184.M5 A625 2011ISBN: 9780813550015Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Call Number: E184 .S75 O97 2005ISBN: 9780195156003Publication Date: 2005four volumes
Latinos and Criminal Justice: an Encyclopedia by Call Number: HV6791 .L38 2016ISBN: 9780313356612Publication Date: 2016
Videos y Film
- Precious KnowledgePrecious Knowledge reports from the frontlines of one of the most contentious battles in public education in recent memory, the fight over Mexican American studies programs in Arizona public schools. The film interweaves the stories of several students enrolled in the Mexican American Studies Program at Tucson High School with interviews with teachers, parents, school officials, and the lawmakers who wish to outlaw the classes.
- Conversations in ColorismsA documentary that addresses colorism within the LatinX community through the lens and living experiences of U.S. Latinas.
- Chulas FronterasA complex, insightful look at the Chicano experience as mirrored in the lives and music of the most acclaimed Norteno musicians of the Texas-Mexican border, including Flaco Jimenez and Lydia Mendoza. Documents the importance of music in all areas of the people's lives, work, play, celebrations, and death. Selected for The Library Of Congress, National Film Registry of motion pictures, (to be preserved in perpetuity.) (In color).
- The bronze screen: 100 years of the Latino image in Hollywood cinema
The Bronze screen honors the past, illuminates the present, and opens a window to the future of Latinos in motion pictures. From silent movies to urban gang films, stereotypes of the Greaser, the Lazy Mexican, the Latin Lover and the Dark Lady are examined. Rare and extensive footage traces the progression of this distorted screen image to the increased prominence of today's Latino actors, writers and directors.
Support for Chicanx/Latinx Students
- RAZA CenterServices are aimed at increasing access, success, retention, transfer and degree completion by providing support that reflects an understanding of the Chicanx/Latinx experience in the United States.
- HSI-Early College ProgramThe Hispanic Serving Institution-Early College Program (HSI-ECP) is a federally funded grant project through the U.S. Department of Education that helps Latinx and low-income high school students take college-level courses that count for both high school and college.
- Undocu-Resource ProgramSacramento City College aims to create a safe, welcoming, and supportive environment for undocumented immigrant students from point of recruitment, to enrollment and completion of their goals.