Skip to main content
ESL 325 (Nuttall)

ESL 325 (Nuttall)

Home

Writing Assignment - Annotated Bibliography

What Is It?

An annotated bibliography is like a Works Cited page, but in addition, it has a summary/response paragraph for each work that you cite. 

An annotated bibliography includes two parts for each source:

  • The bibliography line, which you will write according to the MLA guidelines.
  • The summary and evaluation paragraph, which will be written in your own words. This paragraph summarizes the relevant information and explains why you chose it.

Both parts together are called an entry. Entries are typically organized in alphabetical order according to the bibliography information, such as the last name of an author or the title of a book. This assignment is very important for building research skills, which you will need in W 340, English 300, and other college and university courses that assign research papers.

Tips for Choosing a Topic

  1. A major or career pathway - If you only have a general idea but no specifics, start by looking at these resources:
  1. An area of interest – If you are not interested in a career, you can choose a general area of interest, such as art. It may be helpful to begin with a Google search to help you narrow down your topic. For instance, a student interested in art may end up choosing a type of art, such as Gandharan art from Afghanistan, or a specific artist, such as Chinese artist Ai Weiwei or Vietnamese painter Nguyen Gia Tri.
  2. A hobby – This is similar to #2, but it is more specific to something you do for fun. Do you like to play video games in your free time? Then that would be your topic. The point here is to learn a lot about something very specific, so you still need to look for serious sources. For instance, math and physics are at the core of videogame design, so I would expect at least one of the sources to be about them.

Step 2: Find Information

Use the library databases to find a total of five sources. Be careful when choosing these materials. Skim the information first. Make sure you can actually understand it for the most part. If the material is so difficult that you cannot figure it out, then do not use it. Select something different.

The final five sources should include a variety of media such as articles, video, infographics, slides, TED Talks, and so on. You must include at least one book, such as a textbook, a reference book, or a handbook related to your career field.

Step 3: Download Your Selections

Once you have chosen your sources, save the information to your computer so that you can easily find it again.

Step 4: Write Your Annotated Bibliography

Follow the MLA format for annotated bibliographies that I have provided. The summary and evaluation paragraph for each source must be written in your own words. The evaluation must reflect your own ideas. Do not use book reviews or other sources other than the books and articles themselves to write your notes. If you cut and paste sentences and summaries from the database or other internet websites (Amazon, for instance), your entire assignment will receive a zero. Remember: if you can find something online, so can I.

Tips on Searching for Sources Using OneSearch (SCC Library Website)

  • Based on your keywords, OneSearch will scan all of the Los Rios Libraries' resources, including books, ebooks, and articles from all of our individual databases.
  • Use "quotation marks" to keep your keywords side-by-side as an exact phrase, for example, "career choices"
  • Use the *asterisk as a wild card to give you the same stem with any ending, for example, therap* will give you the words therapy, therapies, therapist, therapeutic and any other word that has the root therap.
  • Use (parentheses) to nest, or combine similar keywords with the connectors OR, AND, NOT, for example, (career* or employment* or job*)
  • An example would be: (career* or employment*) and therap*