Rhetorical Analysis Paper- Due at the end of week 14
Based upon your reading of “Executions Should Be Televised” pp. 64-65, and other articles related to the death penalty, write a 5000-6500-word rhetorical analysis in which you:
- Introduce the topic by providing a definition of capital punishment. Explain the reasons given to support capital punishment in different countries. Be factual and specific about which countries still use capital punishment. Explain the reasons given to ban capital punishment in different countries. Be factual and specific about which countries have banned capital punishment. Use academic sources to research these reasons and examples, don't use blogs and other unreliable sources. Cite your sources and include the bibliographic information in your annotated bibliography. You can return to https://www.scc.losrios.edu/student-resources/library/research/research-instruction (Links to an external site.), https://tstc.libguides.com/citation/tips (Links to an external site.), or use the textbook CTRW pp. 278-279, and 288-308, if you need guidance in conducting research and citing sources. Choose one of the following four constructs to question its involvement in capital punishment: race, class, gender, or religious affiliation. FOR EXAMPLE: Are some groups of people more likely to receive a capital punishment sentence? Consider different races, socioeconomic classes, gender identities, or religious affiliations. You don't have to provide perfect answers or solutions to these issues. Just consider these issues with an informed opinion, using legitimate sources. (1-2 pages)
- Summarize the thesis of “Executions Should Be Televised” (the writers' argument) and major details. Major details are the specific support the writers provide to prove their point. All of the major details (no minor details) should be written in your words. Major hint: explain the writers' opinion about transparency and accountability. Do not directly quote the writers. Instead, paraphrase (in your own words) their opinion. There should be at least one major detail gathered from each paragraph or every other paragraph. (1-2 pages)
- Analyze the argument of “Executions Should Be Televised”. Specifically describe the writers' use of: logos, ethos, and pathos. Give specific examples of the writers' use of inductive and/or deductive reasoning. Clearly explain the writers' use of modal qualifiers. Give specific examples of the writers' acknowledgment of counter-arguments? Support all points of your analysis with examples from the article.(1-2 pages)
- Provide an argument of your own about whether the United States of America should continue to have the death penalty. Be clear about your position on this topic. Use additional sources to research and prove your point. Remember to cite your sources in your paper and include the bibliographic information in your annotated bibliography. You can return to https://www.scc.losrios.edu/student-resources/library/research/research-instruction (Links to an external site.), https://tstc.libguides.com/citation/tips (Links to an external site.), or use the textbook CTRW pp. 278-279, and 288-308, if you need guidance in conducting research and citing sources. Explain the logic of your claim and its connection to the evidence you provide. Are you using inductive and/or deductive reasoning? Provide an explanation to prove that you are using inductive and/or deductive reasoning. Acknowledge counter-arguments and weaknesses in your argument. Explain any modal qualifiers (sometimes, never, always, or in these specific situations)that shape your position on the topic.(1-2 pages)
- Create a Call to Action. Explain how issues related to "Executions Should be Televised" (the death penalty, the purpose of incarceration, or the justice system) can be resolved or improved. Provide evidence and support for your Call to Action. Explain the reasoning of your Call to Action. How is your Call to Action logical and reasonable? Explain the possible outcomes of your Call to Action. In one to two paragraphs, briefly state your position on televising executions. Explain the reasons for your position in three to four paragraphs.(1-2 pages)
-
In one or two paragraphs, briefly state your position on televising the death penalty. Explain the reasons for your position in three to four paragraphs.
- Next, state the opposite position of your position, the opposing point of view. Provide the typical evidence used to prove this opposing point of view. This will require you to conduct research and to cite your sources. You can return to https://www.scc.losrios.edu/student-resources/library/research/research-instruction (Links to an external site.), https://tstc.libguides.com/citation/tips (Links to an external site.), or use the textbook CTRW pp. 278-279, and 288-308, if you need guidance in conducting research and citing sources. Recognize what is valid about the opposing point of view. Explain the logic and strengths of the opposing point of view. For example, recognize the circumstances in which the opposing position would be acceptable. Show a sympathetic understanding of the opposing position. Recognize that those with the opposing point of view are persons of goodwill. (1-2 pages)
- Provide evidence to demonstrate how the opposing position will be improved if your position is accepted. Use additional sources to research and prove your point. Explain the logic of your claim that the opposing position will be improved if your position is acceptable. Remember to cite your sources in your paper and include the bibliographic information in your annotated bibliography. (1-2 pages)
- Acknowledge any weaknesses in your argument. In three to four sentences, demonstrate a sympathetic understanding of the opposing position and its core values. In one to two sentences, explain the importance of mutual communication. (1-2 pages)
- Provide a 5-page, Annotated Bibliography. For guidance, use the textbook CTRW pp. 278-279, and 288-308, this Link (Links to an external site.) for Easybib.com, or How to Write an Annotated Bibliography (Links to an external site.) for guidance. The Annotated Bibliography is not included in the word count. It must include the article "Executions Should be Televised".