Research Guides: ENGWR 300 (Waggoner): Research Databases

Research Databases

Creating a Concept Map

Concept Map example
This is a good example from Appalachian State University on how to produce a concept map. Their example is on vegetarianism

Finding Articles

You can start a search on any topic in OneSearch. It has articles on everything. See previous page for more information on using OneSearch.

Find more subject-specific articles from journals, magazines and newspapers by searching the library's research databases.

On the database page, find the category for your topic. For example, if you are searching for the power of language, you might want to go to the Communication or Psychology or Sociology databases.

If you are off campus, log in to the database with your W number and e-services password.

A sampling of helpful databases for your assignment

OneSearch
Los Rios Libraries' online catalog and access to the content of most databases held at Los Rios.
Gale eBooks
Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
Films on Demand
Documentaries in the humanities, history, health, technical education, archival films, and much more.
SAGE Journals
Scholarly journals in the health sciences, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and life sciences.
JSTOR
Scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, education and other fields.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journals, ebooks, abstracts, patents and legal research from academic, nonprofit and government sources. Use the Los Rios Full Text link for library provided content.
APA PsycARTICLES
Scholarly journals in psychology and behavioral sciences published by the American Psychological Association and affiliates.