Skip to main content

BUS 300 (Reynolds): Home

Find information on Fortune 500 companies from selected publications

Essential links

Find Information about a Company

Business Source Complete allows you to quickly locate information related to a particular company using the Company Information tool.

  1. Go to the Research Databases page and click on Business Source Complete.
  2. In the Browse section under the search box, click Company Information
  3. Type the name of the company and click the Search button.
  4. Find essential information in the middle column; use the links on the left to find articles and reports.

Note that when you search for a company, you might find it at the top of the list, but you might not. It is possible that the company is listed with a slightly different name. If you don't see it immediately, things to try include:

  • Check the Fortune list to find out where the company is headquartered. Then, in Business Source Complete, click the Company Information link at the top of the screen and use the geographical limiters to limit your search to United States or to the state where the business is headquartered.
  • If the one you find looks right but doesn't have much information, check the page to see if a parent company is listed—this might be the correct company.

Search for articles from particular sources

You are required to find recent articles from any of the following sources: Fortune, Forbes, BusinessWeek, the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.

The first three of these have full text in Business Source Complete. You will find articles from WSJ listed in Business Source Complete, but to read the full text you will have to find it on the 2nd floor of the library in the newspapers section. SCC keeps the most recent year of WSJ in print. (We also have Forbes, Fortune, and Business Week in print if you want to browse.)

The Business Department can give you a shared password to use for to access the wsj.com website. Instructions for finding New York Times articles are located further down this page.

Search Fortune, Forbes, BusinessWeek and Wall Street Journal at the same time

  1. Go to the Advanced Search Screen of Business Source Complete.
  2. Type the name of the company into the first box.
  3. In the second box, enter the following text:
    forbes OR fortune OR businessweek OR "wall street journal"
    note that BusinessWeek is one word, not two
  4. Change the dropdown menu to the right from Select a field (optional) to SO Publication Name
  5. Under Published Date From, enter 2010 or some other recent year in the first box, and leave the second one blank.

search screen example

Find more articles

Are you getting too few results?

The database does not search the full text of the articles by default. You will turn up more articles if you tell the database to also search the full text. To do so:

  1. When you are on the results screen look on the left for a link reading Show more. Click it
  2. On the window that pops up, check the box labeled Also search within the full text of the articles.
  3. Click the Search button to apply.

Also search within the full text

Searching the New York Times

The New York Times is not included in Business Source Complete. Instead, use LexisNexis Academic. (You can also try searching at nytimes.com, but you can only view a small number of articles for free.)

The link below will take you to a search screen that is limited to the New York Times:

Type the name of the company you are researching and search. When you get results, look on the left and you'll find that you can limit by company if you like.

LexisNexis Academic results, filter by company