Tools & How-to
- About OneSearch
- EBSCO Ebooks Guide
- Focusing A Research Topic
- How To Find Book Reviews
- Is It Scholarly? Identifying Scholarly and Non-Scholarly Sources
- Library Videos
- Linking to Articles & Ebooks at SCC
- Research Tools for Your Browser
Last Updated 12/2012
PDF, Last Updated 10/2010
Ideas for Research Papers
OneSearch provides access to almost all of the library's collection from a single search box. Type your keywords and quickly get results from books, ebooks, articles, images, streaming audio, and more.
The following sources are included:
- All records (books, videos, etc.) from the Los Rios Library Catalog
- All EBSCOhost full-text databases (journals, magazines, newspapers, and more) listed on the Research Databases page
- The EBSCO eBook Collection (over 120,000 titles; learn how to use them)
- ACLS Humanities E-Books (over 4,000 titles)
- Entries and chapters from the books in Gale Virtual Reference Library
- ScienceDirect College Edition, Health & Life Sciences Collection
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, and V
- Law review articles from LexisNexis Academic
- Articles, book chapters and audio from Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- Articles and book chapters from Gale Literature Resource Center
- All ARTstor images
- All Naxos Music Library and Naxos Music Library Jazz Collection streaming audio
- Articles from the Directory of Open-Access Journals
- A certain number of other Open-Access (free) sources, including journals, institutional repositories, government documents, self-archiving sites, and so on.
To view full-text results, you may see a link to "PDF full text" or "HTML full text", or you might see a link that will take you to another subscription database or online source.
Does OneSearch replace the library catalog?
Everything listed in the library catalog can also be found in OneSearch. In addition, OneSearch provides added features such as related books and links to reviews. However, there are many cases when, if you are simply looking for a few books, or a book or video whose title you already know, or items on reserve, it will be simpler to search the library catalog, where you will not need to sort and filter results as you would in OneSearch. In addition, if you want to request books from a different Los Rios library or renew an item, this can only be done via the library catalog.
Does OneSearch replace other research databases?
OneSearch is one tool among many. If you want to search the widest possible array of sources at once, it is a good tool to use. There are plenty of cases, however, when you might want to use a more focused database that covers a particular discipline or has a particular kind of material. In addition, a few of the databases are not included in OneSearch.
How do I know which database the information is coming from?
If you click a record, you can find out which database it is coming from under "Database." If you wish, you can limit your search results to a particular database by using the "Database" limiter near the bottom of the left-hand menu.
OneSearch is powered by EBSCO Discovery Service. If you have questions about the way it has been implemented at SCC, please use our Ask a Librarian service. For more detailed information, contact Jeff Karlsen.